China Private Tour Guide Service

Site Map
The Spring Autumn and Warring States Period

Home Page

Contact Us

Beijing Tour Guide

Xi'an Tour Guide

Shanghai Tour Guide

Other Cities Tour Guide

Business Interpreter Service

Hotel, Ticket,and Car Service

China Shopping Guide

Chinese Food Guide

Night Entertainment

Chinese Culture

Chinese History
Chinese Geography
China Travel Tips

Picture Album

Clients Testimonials

More Information

The Spring Autumn and Warring States Period After the capital was occupied by barbarians from the west in 771BC, the Zhou moved east, thus it was called the Eastern Zhou Dynasty. The power of the Eastern Zhou declined somewhat. The so-called Spring & Autumn period, named after a book (The Spring and Autumn Annals) that provides the history of that period. During that time, new ideas and philosophies of different schools proliferated. From a historical standpoint, the four most important schools were Daoism (represented by Lao Zi and Zhuang Zi), Confucianism (represented by Kong Zi and Meng Zi), Legalism (represented by Han Fei) and Militarism (represented by Su Wu). A great poet Qu Yuan with his two poetic essays named Chu Ci (Chu Songs) and Li Sao (The Lament), was very famous and he had great influence on poetry writing of later ages.
In the Spring and Autumn Period, iron replaced bronze for tools and weapons. The use of iron led to an increase in agricultural output. The population continued to grow. But the influences of Eastern Zhou on its vassal states became weaken and weaken. So many principalities co-existed with Zhou and they always fought with each other for hegemony. Five dukes were most important among them. They were namely Huangong of the Qi state, Xianggong of the Song, Wengong of the Jin, Mugong of the Qin and Zhuangwang of the Chu. In the history they were known as the "the Five Overlords of the Spring and Autumn Period". The endless wars brought great disaster to the people. At the end of Spring and Autumn Period seven important states left they were namely QI, Chu, Yan, Han, Zhao, Wei and Qin. Later on Kingdom Qin annexed the other six and unified China.

The prehistory of China
The Xia Dynastry(21st-17th centuryBC)
The Shang Dynasty(17th-11th century BC)
The Zhou Dynasty(11th century BC-256BC)
The Spring Autumn(770-476BC) and Warring States Period(475- 221BC)
The Qin Dynasty(221-206BC)
The Western Han Dynasty(206BC-25AD)
The Eastern Han Dynasty(25AD-220AD)
The Sui Dynasty(589-618)
The Tang Dynasty(618-907)
The Five Dynasties(907-960)
The Northern Song Dynasty(960-1127)
The Liao Dynasty(907-1125), Western Xai Dynasty(1038-1227) and Jin Dynasty(1115-1234)
The Southern Dynasty(1127-1279)
The Yuan Dynasty(1206-1368)
The Ming Dynasty(1368-1644)
The Qing Dynasty(1616-1911)
Republic of China(1912-1949)
The People's Republic of China(1949-)




Mobile:(+86-1350 110 3837) Fax:(0086-10-6585 4230) E-mail: